About Us
About Us

Our History

2016 Marks the 100th Anniversary of the Canadian Section!

The Canadian Section of the American Water Works Association (AWWA) was founded in 1916 and held its first annual conference in Montreal in 1920. For 51 years (until 1970) the Canadian Section held annual conferences and did much to promote good waterworks practice in Canada.

On January 1, 1971, the Canadian Section reorganized and three new AWWA Sections came into existence—Atlantic Canada, Ontario, and Western Canada. Waterworks professionals in Quebec had received Section status in 1967. On January 1, 1973, the British Columbia Section was inaugurated, creating five Canadian Sections.

The AWWA was formed in 1881 at a meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, attended by water utility representatives from the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky and Tennessee. They established the Association for “the exchange of information pertaining to the management of water-works, for the mutual advancement of consumers and water companies, and for the purpose of securing economy and uniformity in the operation of water-works.”  Today, AWWA has more than 55,000 members in more than 130 countries.

Since 1971, the Ontario Section has held its annual conference in the spring (typically early May). The Section restructured in 1995 and officially changed the name to Ontario Water Works Association – A Section of AWWA. One of its first activities was to create a strategic plan, which was updated in 1998 and is reviewed and updated every five years.

President 2017-2018: Marcus Firman

Past Chairs / Presidents

2016-2017     Bill Garibaldi
2015-2016     Gary Houghton
2014-2015     Abhay Tadwalkar
2013-2014     Emma Murphy
2012-2013     Ray Miller
2011-2012     Lee Anne Jones
2010-2011     Saad Jasim
2009-2010     John Braam
2008-2009     Tom Moulton
2007-2008     Bob LeCraw
2006-2007     Wayne Stiver
2005-2006     Joe Salter
2004-2005     Brian Jobb
2003-2004     Susan Andrews
2002-2003     Tim Lotimer
2001-2002     Roland Welker
2000-2001     Steve Burns
1999-2000     Rick Evans
1998-1999     Judy MacDonald
1997-1998     Patricia Lachmaniuk
1996-1997     Tom Eyre
1995-1996     Boyce Hutcheon
1994-1995     Kent Edwards
1993-1994     Hershel Guttman
1992-1993     Rod Holme
1991-1992     Ken Roberts

1990-1991     Edward Nevala
1989-1990     John Anderson
1988-1989     George Mierzynski
1987-1988     Michael Provart
1986-1987     Roger Tomlinson
1985-1986     Lou Vogele
1984-1985     Jim Craig
1983-1984     Robert Wilson
1982-1983     Burn Hodgins
1981-1982     John Pawley
1980-1981     Allan Ladbrooke
1979-1980     Paul Foley
1978-1979     William Warwick
1977-1978     Paul Emery
1976-1977     Bob Goodings
1975-1976     Herbert Akehurst
1974-1975     Steve Bonk
1973-1974     Ron Noonan
1972-1973     John Gurnham
1971-1972     Alex Redekopp
1971              Dave Durward

AWWA Director 2015-2018: Ray Miller

Past AWWA Directors

2012-2015 Tom Moulton
2009-2012 Wayne Stiver
2006-2009 Tim Lotimer
2003-2006 Steve Burns
2001-2003 Patricia Lachmaniuk
2000-2001 Judy MacDonald
1997-2000 Hershel Guttman
1994-1997 Rod Holme
1991-1994 John Anderson
1988-1991 Michael Provart
1985–1988 Jim Craig
1982-1985 John Pawley
1979-1982 Paul Emery
1976-1979 Steve Bonk
1973-1976 Arthur Kennedy
1970-1973 Howard Powell

© 2020 Ontario Water Works Association. All rights reserved.

Site Development by TechnicalitiesPlus Inc.