About Us
About Us


Each year the OWWA and AWWA honour their members through various achievement awards. The individuals who receive these awards are recognized for their hard work and dedication to the water profession — most awards are presented at the annual conference held in early May.

Recent OWWA award winners are listed below. To view the complete list, click here.

Nominations are reviewed and recommendations are made to the Board of Directors by the Awards & Nominations Committee.

The following awards are generally presented by OWWA:

George Warren Fuller Award Dr. Albert E. Berry Membership Award
Norman J. Howard Award Michael R. Provart Environmental Award
Operator’s Meritorious Service Award Water Efficiency Awards

 Click Here for more information on the OWWA 2020 Awards!

Submit your Nomination Here!

Applications must be submitted by: December 5, 2019

The George Warren Fuller Award

The George Warren Fuller Award is presented to a Section member for their distinguished service to the water supply field in commemoration of the sound engineering skill, brilliant diplomatic talent, and constructive leadership which characterized the life of George Warren Fuller.


  • 2019 Ian Douglas, Ottawa
  • 2018 Nick Benkovich, Sudbury
  • 2017 Jim Smith, Toronto
  • 2016 Saad Jasim, Windsor
  • 2015 Tom Moulton, Toronto
  • 2014 John Braam, London
  • 2013 Jim Merritt, Toronto
  • 2012 Wayne Stiver, Peterborough
  • 2011 Susan Andrews, Toronto
  • 2010 Maxwell Christie, Napanee
  • 2009 Dr. Robert Andrews, Toronto
  • 2008 Stephen D. Burns, Goderich

View the complete list.

The Norman J.Howard Award

The Norman J. Howard Award recognizes proficiency in one or more of the following areas of a municipal water supply – design, construction, operation, maintenance, management, regulation, and research.



  • 2019 William Fernandes, Toronto
  • 2018 Abhay Tadwalkar, Toronto
  • 2017 Quirien Muylwyk, Toronto
  • 2016 Andrew J. Henry, London
  • 2015 Hans Kamping, Peterborough
  • 2014 John Thompson, Barrie
  • 2013 Robert LeCraw, Newmarket
  • 2012 Douglas Parker, Belleville
  • 2011 Garry Palmateer, London
  • 2010 Michael Tobalt, Ottawa
  • 2009 Nick J. Benkovich, Sudbury
  • 2008 Donald P. Currie, Muskoka

View the complete list.

The Operator’s Meritorious Service Award

The Operator’s Meritorious Service Award recognizes commitment and long-term service beyond the requirements of normal operating duties and regulatory compliance.


  • 2019 Mike Mitchell, District Municipality of Muskoka
  • 2018 Dan Sedore, York Region
  • 2017 Paul Eybergen, Oxford County
  • 2016 Tim Wettlaufer, Waterloo
  • 2015 Mike Janas, Niagara
  • 2014 Kevan Light, Peterborough
  • 2013 Steve Cripps, Barrie
  • 2012 Ted Joynt, Town of Smiths Falls
  • 2011 Dave Jordan, Toronto
  • 2010 Daniel Huggins, London
  • 2009 Chris Norman, Lakefield
  • 2008 Neville Hewage, City of Greater Sudbury

View the complete list.

The Albert E. Berry Award

The Dr. Albert E. Berry Award recognizes extraordinary contribution to membership promotion and OWWA activities.



  • 2019 The Region of Peel
  • 2018 John Braam
  • 2017 AECOM Canada Ltd.
  • 2016 Nathaniel Andres, Toronto
  • 2015 City of Toronto
  • 2014 Linda Cooke, Mississauga
  • 2013 Michael Welch, Mississauga
  • 2012 The City of London
  • 2011 Neptune Technology Group Canada Ltd.
  • 2010 Heather Broomer, Pickering
  • 2009 The Town of Midland
  • 2008 Peterborough Utilities Service Inc., Peterborough

View the complete list.

Appreciation Certificates

Appreciation Certificates recognize significant contributions to the Section as a committee member, director, representative of OWWA or other extraordinary contributions to the Section over an extended period.

2019 Recipients

  • Water Quality Technology Conference (WQTC) Local Host Committee

2018 Recipients

  • Indra Prashad
  • Jackie Kennedy
  • Michele Grenier

2017 Recipients

  • Brian Pett
  • Sandra Latorne
  • Michael Halsam
  • Brett Bloxam
  • Jane Bonsteel

2016 Recipients

  • Zoran Filinov, Toronto
  • Aziz Ahmed, Toronto
  • Mike Fairbanks, York Region
  • Simon Gautrey, Hamilton

2015 Recipients

  • Nick Reid, Toronto
  • Ernie Ting, Markham
  • Roland Welker, London
  • Theresa McClenaghan,Toronto

2014 Recipient

  • Douglas Parker, Belleville

2013 Recipients

  • John Anderson, Haliburton
  • Carl Bodimede, Niagara Falls

2012 Recipient

  • Ian Smith, Toronto

2011 Recipients

  • Indra Prashad, Toronto
  • Kingsley Blease, Wellington
  • Tony Petrucci, Toronto
  • Troy Leyburne, Brampton

2010 Recipients

  • Brian Jobb, Walkerton
  • Hans Kamping, Peterborough
  • Krys Potapczyk, Toronto


Michael R. Provart Environmental Award

The Provart Award is presented each year in memory of a former Chair (President) of OWWA (1987-1988), Michael R. Provart. This award recognizes an Ontario university student, graduate or undergraduate, for excellence in his/her presentation at Ontario’s Water Conference & Trade Show. The presentation may be either oral in the University Forum portion of the conference or in the form of a poster. The award ($1,000) is made possible through contributions by the Provart family, Dillon Consulting and the Ontario Water Works Association.



  • 2019 Fei Feng, University of Toronto
  • 2018 Nathan Moore, University of Toronto
  • 2017 Yanting Liu, University of Waterloo
  • 2016 Nicolas Paleato, University of Toronto
  • 2015 Michael McKie, University of Toronto
  • 2014 Sylvia Vlad, University of Waterloo
  • 2013 Dana Zheng, University of Toronto
  • 2012 Mark Spanjers, University of Waterloo
  • 2011 Avid Banihashemi, University of Waterloo
  • 2010 Ruqiao (Emma) Shen, University of Toronto
  • 2009 Hong Zhang, University of Toronto
  • 2008 Monique Waller, University of Toronto

View the complete list.

Water Efficiency Awards

Each year for more than 10 years the OWWA Water Efficiency Committee has recognized outstanding initiatives in water efficiency in both the public and private sector.

The 2019 Call for Awards is now closed.

Awards of Excellence in Water Efficiency

  • Public Sector & Utilities Award
  • Private Sector Award

2019 Recipients

  • Public Sector and Utilities, Programs, The Regional Municipality of York
  • Public Sector and Utilities, Water Efficiency Measures, InnServices Utilities Inc.

2018 Recipients

  • Public Sector, Peel District School Board: Water Smart Schools
  • Private Sector Award, ARLA Foods: Water Conservation through York Region Water Consultation Program

2017 Recipients

  • Public Sector & Utilities, City of Guelph 2016 Water Efficiency Strategy
  • Public Education & Awareness, City of Markham Get to Know H2O Program and City of Guelph H2Awesome Youth Education Program

2016 Recipients

  • Public Sector & Utilities, Region of Waterloo Restaurant Certification Program, Waterloo
  • Private Sector Award, Western University Water Management Program, London
  • Public Education & Awareness, The Water Smart Irrigation Professional (WSIP) certification program

2015 Recipients

  • Public Sector & Utilities, Toronto Water, Toronto
  • Private Sector Award, Baycrest Health Sciences, Toronto

2014 Recipients

  • Public Education & Awareness, City of London
  • Public Sector & Utility, County of Oxford

2013 Recipients

  • Public Sector & Utilities, Kingston
  • Private Sector, Sanofi Pasteur

2012 Recipients

  • Public Sector & Utilities, City of Waterloo
  • Private Sector, Toronto Airport Marriott Hotel
  • Public Education & Awareness, City of Hamilton Public Works

2011 Recipients

  • Public Sector & Utilities, City of Guelph
  • Private Sector, Labatt Breweries of Canada, London
  • Public Education & Awareness, The Regional Municipality of York

© 2020 Ontario Water Works Association. All rights reserved.

Site Development by TechnicalitiesPlus Inc.